Posted by: Mark | August 26, 2007

Accommodation

Finding accommodation in Jogjakarta is pretty difficult right now. Or so I hear anyway. Because it isn’t so hard when the person assigned to help you find a kos (boarding house) owns one himself. In that case, in takes about ten minutes.

So, I have a place to live, in the neighbourhood Karanggayam, which is about 15-20 minutes walk to uni, and close to most things I’ll need on a daily basis. Basically, I’m paying 400,000Rp per month for a room, private toilet and shower, furnishings, and use of communal facilities. So, thats about AU$56, not a bad deal in my estimation.

Kos 1

This is my room. It comes with a desk, chair, double bed with mattress, wardrobe, and not much else. But really, what else could I need? Well, lots of things, but they’re really cheap here, so I’m not too fussed.

Kos 2

This is my bathroom. It’s a little dank, but everything is functional and Western. No hot water, but who needs it in this weather. Well, it isn’t that hot, but still, you get the point.

So, anyway, I have a place to live, and I’m working on a way to get around. Now, I’m going home to rent a 10L water bottle, the most sensible purchase I’m likely to make the entire time I’m here. 14 cents a litre? Sold!

Leave a Reply

Categories

